Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

🎧 Ep 7: if you've overslept—this is the alarm you set🚨

please don't hit the snooze button on this one—because if you're reading this—you're most likely already late. But better late than never right?
Transcript

No transcript...

This is a 1 minute podcast about life grabbing you and i by the balls.
If any of the episodes are beyond 1 minute, please report to the nearest police station.
1 minute, please?

Official Podcast Art

“the thing that made you weird as a kid might make you great as an adult if you don't lose it.”

those words (video attached) were what sparked this fire conversation by fire starter (Boma):

0:00
-6:37

the 1 minute, please? podcast had to break its rule of 1 minute for this one. It’s that good that once you listen to it—you don’t need to go to church this Sunday.


if you can’t download the audio—you can read all she said below:

so let me give you context, right? So growing up, I had been called talkative. In fact, you know how when you're growing up, they say go and be a lawyer, right? I wish somebody had directed me to mass communication.

but in our parents' time when we were growing up, it's either you were a lawyer, a doctor, an engineer, a banker. So you say mass comm and you seem like you're unserious because who was doing mass comm then?

but I'm looking at my life now and some of the people in the space that I want to be in that are not even as good as I am based off of just my natural talents.

And I'm thinking, what if I had studied mass comm? What if somebody saw beyond me being a talkative? and saw it as: this girl is confident, this girl is courageous. Whenever I speak, people are asking me: oh, you have accent.

i don't have an accent. Literally, I pick on people's languages. I can do South African, Ghanaian, and a lot of African countries. I learnt it from Big Brother Africa. I speak Hausa that I learnt when I was in primary school. I still speak it till now. I have such a good ear for languages.

but then these were things I got bullied for. I got thrown out. I got put aside for. Why? When people don't understand why you are different, automatically there's a problem with you because how dare you be different? How dare you be something else than the norm and what is general, you know?

so please, I so much agree with it (the quote in the video). I saw it and it triggered me because I'm just fully stepping into myself this year, you,know and being that I want my own self and all that I am to be my major hustle and office work to be side hustle, as opposed to using me as the side hustle, meaning I want to stop being the side piece.

i'm the main character in my own story, right? And so I deserve, hell, hell yes, I dare to deserve. And then I now deserve after I dare! And I go ahead to like do it because I dare to deserve. I now actually do realize that, wait, actually, I deserve to actually be everything and more that is the main dish and the main cause, not the side piece!

so, and I'm looking at it that I'm putting minimal effort and the result I'm seeing, people who have been putting maximum are not seeing it, right? Or they see they're struggling for it, yet it's literally like the opportunities are chasing me.

they may not be flooding in now, but I'm asking myself if I keep up with this and I'm consistent for the next six months by basically showing up for myself every day, being consistent, fighting for myself, being in people's faces, those who don't like it, get out of the way, those who like it, welcome it.

i'm not going to change myself, shortchange myself for anybody. If I'm in the environment, I'm too loud. My dear, use earphones. I ain't gon reduce my voice no more. I'm not going to reduce my personality, reduce my skills. No.

i talk, but I don't talk amiss. I talk because I have something upstairs. I talk because I have an opinion and I have an opinion because I'm intelligent and I'm smart. And I'm not going to be sorry that other people coward and wait to be called. I will grab every opportunity. I will raise my hand in a large crowd, you know, because that's how I've gotten to where I am by not second-guessing or feeling shy.

i'm sorry that you are shy or you are reserved, great and cool for you, but that's not me, you know, because I'm so angry now, it took a while for me to forgive myself because I'm just thinking, my goodness, literally you waste your whole 20s finding purpose when really your purpose is just who you are and that very thing everyone dislikes.

if I'm going to tell teenagers anything, I'll say, what is that one thing that you hate about yourself based off of people's opinion? Write it down. I promise you, tobi. Check what they will write. Check what people's responses, even adults, throw a poll and say, what's that one thing you hate the most about yourself?

look at Kagan Tech. Look at Opeyemi Famakin. All these so-called influencers are doing it big right now. Go and check their backstory. They were all told to shut up. You know, people are following Opeyemi Famakin, but when he started, he was called rude. Even today, he's still called rude, but you're still following. He's rude, though, but you're still on his page. He's rude, though, but you're still liking his pictures and commenting. You're part of the reason why he's growing.

so at the end of the day, maybe you don't really hate it. You just hate that you're not him and you hate that you have that side to you, but you can't express it because you don't have the courage or the balls to.

so when I saw this post, I was like, oh my God, this is literally me. Like, I'm doing things that are shocking me. I'm doing things and it's not costing me anything, but I'm getting results that are like blowing my mind.

and I'm like, I'm sitting in somebody's office collecting salary that they are paying me for one gig. Am I mad? Is that not stupid? Because somebody somewhere told me: you're too loud.

my dear, if I'm too loud, you too increase your volume. Do you know how many times I've been told, learn to reduce your voice. This is my natural voice. I'm not even shouting. This is my volume from heaven. I don't have a girly voice.

i remember when I was in my office, I have this whole grunting in my voice like Davido and they laughed about it. And I said, do you see who you associate me with? You, who do they associate you with? Name one person. And that was the end. I shut it up.

so now you see anything that seems like you can shut my mind. I shut it down and I respond. Ah people need to fight for themselves more. We need to get to that point where people fight for themselves. People's offices shouting, crying. There's a problem. God already saw that there will be a problem and he inserted the solution in each and every one of us.

the issue is the devil will not let you realize that you are the solution to the problem. He will make you a part of the problem instead of the solution to the problem. So now you will try to be conforming to those that you should be helping or those that should be conforming to you and following you. You that you’re now the leader you want to become their follower.

tobi, i don't know if you can tell I'm passionate about this particular topic because bro, it's like I'm right in the middle of it. Like I seen it, you know, from like a rare view mirror of my life. And now I'm in the middle of it. I've also surpassed it to a level and I'm grateful for it because there are people who have not even realized it.

so while I was beating myself, I said, Oh, I should have realized it since I'm like, but even when you realize it, you were still doing you because you couldn't help but be you. It's just you were not doing it on this scale.

and now you are launching out, reaching out, talking about yourself, selling yourself And you're grabbing every opportunity that comes your way. You're not selling yourself short. So you're doing well, my dear.

well, I have a podcast, but I don't know if we spoke about this topic. Now, maybe you've even inspired me. Maybe this is a topic that I will talk about there.

she didn’t ask but I’d love you to see other expressions of Boma


what is that one thing you hate about yourself?


Frequently listened to:


help Jollof-Write give FREE food to the community by pledging your support

or

Buy Jollof-Write a Coffee


New here? join 300+ customers getting FREE delicious meals delivered to their screen👇🏽


Care to share?👇🏽

Share Jollof-Write👨🏽‍🍳✍🏽

0 Comments
Jollof-Write👨🏽‍🍳✍🏽
1 Minute, Please?
A 1-minute podcast about life grabbing you and me by the balls.
If any episodes are beyond 1 minute, please report to the nearest police.